Bhagavad Gita and Karma Yoga

No one who is born in this world can remain inactive. Bhagavad-Gita teaches that each person should follow their dharma (sacred duty) and take actions accordingly.

For example, the dharma of a teacher is to share knowledge. Dharma of a business person is to engage in commerce. Dharma of a warrior is to protect the innocent and fight for justice.

In the Bhagavad-Gita, Sri Krishna says to Arjuna that as a warrior, he has the duty to fight against injustice and lead others who look up to him.

However, Sri Krishna adds that even when one takes actions, it should be done without ego attachments as a matter of dharma that fulfills a higher purpose.

This approach to life is known as karma yoga and is taught by Bhagavan Krishna in the Bhagavad-Gita.

According to karma yoga, one should act carefully according to dharma with respect for all life.

After having done one’s best, one should not be attached to the outcomes. Instead, one should surrender all the fruits (results) of the actions to Lord with the attitude, “Not my will but thy will my Lord.”

Keeping the Lord in mind in all actions purifies the mind and frees the yogi from worry and anxiety.

5 thoughts on “Bhagavad Gita and Karma Yoga

  1. Reblogged this on mira prabhu and commented:
    Although I was born in India, I had a more or less Western upbringing and only studied the Bhagavad Gita in Manhattan, during a hatha yoga teacher training course, believe it or not! It made such a huge impression on me that much later I wrote a novel about being a spiritual warrior, titled KRISHNA’S COUNSEL. Thanks for a great post, Harsh Luthar!


  2. When I first read Krishna’s words to Arjuna on the battlefield all the hairs on my arms stood up, my body was electrified. I have never forgotten it.


  3. ‘Yaksha Prashna’ is a book brought out by Bharathiya Vidya Bhavan on the interesting episode of the dialog between Yudhishtra and the God of Dharma, Yama. This book has a foreword written by Kulpati K M Munshi explaining how dharma is a very structured concept built on daiva dharma, desha dharma,yuga dharma, kula dharma, stree/purusha dharma,…and finally samanya dharma! And there is a hierarchy of priorities. ‘Dont tell lies, dont hurt life,,,,’ are all part of samanya dharma.


  4. As we remember these truths, we are asked to be their expression each moment as best we can warriors of Peace and Love and Compassion and so will Peace, Love and Compassion be returned to us.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.